Sunday, June 5, 2011

PD: Education Webinars from Learn Central

Live Interactive Webinars: Public & Free ~ free professional development online ~ DIY
Network Email
Charting the Course of Teaching and Learning in a Networked World

A message to all members of The Future of Education

Below are this week's public, free, and interactive Webinars through, the social learning network for education that I work on for Blackboard Collaborate (Elluminate).

The time of the events below will show up automatically in your own time zone when you are registered in LearnCentral and when you have chosen your time zone in your profile, or you can check the new event time converter on the event page. Event recordings are posted and available after the events if you aren't able to attend them live. If you are looking for an easy calendar import / RSS feed for these events, you'll now find a link on your calendar page or the calendar page of specific groups!

We hope you will consider hosting your own public webinars using the free LearnCentral public room--instructions are available by joining the 'Host Your Own Webinar' group on the main announcement tab (

Thanks for your attention, and see you online!

Steve Hargadon

(Host Your Own Webinar SeriesSun 5 Jun 08:30AM New York / Sun 5 Jun 12:30PM GMT / Sun 5 Jun 10:30PM Sydney. Jingshen Zhao. The student Model United Nations delegates will be lobbying a resolution on food security, while the adult advisors and student facilitators will have a planning meeting. Learn about our initiative at and join the community at before attending our meeting.

(Host Your Own Webinar SeriesMon 6 Jun 04:30PM New York / Mon 6 Jun 08:30PM GMT / Tue 7 Jun 06:30AM Sydney. Shelee King George. This session will extend Frontier School Division's Peer Coaching training. Focus on Trust and protocols from Session 6 and 7 of the Peer Coaching Program hosted on the Parters in Learning Network. Training will be led byPeer-Ed.

(Host Your Own Webinar SeriesMon 6 Jun 07:00PM New York / Mon 6 Jun 11:00PM GMT / Tue 7 Jun 09:00AM Sydney. Peer-Ed Peer Coaching Byte-Leadership Support. Peer-Ed's Peer Coaching Webinar Bytes are intended to connect peer coaching facilitators and their coaches. Each 30 minute Webinar will focus on one topic, deliver a short presentation, and then provide an opportunity to ask questions and/or share other strategies. This byte will feature Tracy Watanabe, Technology Integration Specialist -Apache Junction Unified School District, Arizona. Hear how she keeps leadership in the loop and celebrates her peer coaching successes. Consider how you can apply these ideas to your coaching program. Learn. Connect. Share.

(TL CafeMon 6 Jun 08:00PM New York / Tue 7 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Tue 7 Jun 10:00AM Sydney. Gwyneth Jones. Join Guests: John Schumacher, Kelly Nelsen, & Shannon McClintock Miller and Ernie Cox: We will build an exciting summer reading list with the help of youth participants from around the country.

CHRISTOPHER CHABRIS AND DANIEL SIMONS ON THE INVISIBLE GORILLA (Future of Education SeriesTue 7 Jun 08:00PM New York / Wed 8 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Wed 8 Jun 10:00AM Sydney. Steve Hargadon. Join Steve for a live and interactive Future of Education with Christopher Chabris and Daniel Simons, authors of The Invisible Gorilla: How Our Intuitions Deceive Us. While not a book specifically about education, this fascinating look at "how our minds don't work the way we think they do" will hopefully capture your attention as it has mine, as well as giving us a chance to think about its implications for education, both in terms of classroom practice and for larger educational policy.

(Math 2.0 SeriesWed 8 Jun 09:30PM New York / Thu 9 Jun 01:30AM GMT / Thu 9 Jun 11:30AM Sydney. Maria Droujkova. Join Jerry "The Cybrary Man" Blumengarten on one man's quest to support learning with a curated library.

(Host Your Own Webinar SeriesThu 9 Jun 01:00PM New York / Thu 9 Jun 05:00PM GMT / Fri 10 Jun 03:00AM Sydney. Krystal Sundstrom. In this webinar, you'll learn about navigating LinguaFolio Online, how to manage student accounts, and how to integrate LinguaFolio in your STARTALK program.

(Math 2.0 SeriesThu 9 Jun 03:00PM New York / Thu 9 Jun 07:00PM GMT / Fri 10 Jun 05:00AM Sydney. Maria Droujkova. David Wees and Richard DeMerchant will facilitate an open, interactive discussion about "Mathematician's Lament."

(Future of Education SeriesThu 9 Jun 08:00PM New York / Fri 10 Jun 12:00AM GMT / Fri 10 Jun 10:00AM Sydney. Steve Hargadon. Steve hosts a live and interactive Future of Education with Troy Hicks, co-author of Because Digital Writing Matters: Improving Student Writing in Online and Multimedia Environments and author of The Digital Writing Workshop. We'll talk about how to apply digital writing skills effectively in the classroom, since many students may be adept at text messaging and communicating online but do not know how to craft a basic essay. Troy will also discuss how best to integrate new technologies into writing instruction.

(Classroom 2.0 LIVESat 11 Jun 12:00PM New York / Sat 11 Jun 04:00PM GMT / Sun 12 Jun 02:00AM Sydney. Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini and Peggy George. Mark Moran, founder of Sweet Search, will give an overview of the SweetSearch and FInding Dulcinea website and share the recent updates.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...